Architectural technology shines at awards

Winner of small to medium category

The Chartered Institute of Architectural Technologists announced the winners of its
2021 Awards recently. 

   The winner of the Award for Excellence in Architectural Technology Small to Medium was a residential build in a tricky position facing the River Great Ouse in Kings Lynn, Norfolk designed by Studio 11 Architecture. Winning the Award for Excellence in Architectural Technology Medium to Mega was the Rosalind Franklin Institute (the Franklin), a life science research and innovation facility on the world-leading Harwell Science and Innovation Campus.

Taking the top spot of Architectural Technologist of the year was Tom Gray MCIAT, who was praised as an ambassador for AT. Passionate about his work he is also involved in many extra curricular activities including promoting the industry to students, becoming a mental health first aider and is a member of an EDI Taskforce.

Matthew Willemsen MCIAT was named emerging talent and two winners were chosen for The Student Award for Excellence in Architectural Technology: the Eco-Quarter Sustainability Hub by Craig John Gregory from Nottingham Trent University, and the
Strawberry Hill Healthcare Village by Luke Williams at Nottingham Trent University.

Usman Yaqub FCIAT was the recipient of the Gold Award and the inaugural President’s Medal went to Professor Sam Allwinkle in recognition of his work to enrich, progress and advance the discipline of AT.

Story for AIJ? Get in touch via email: [email protected]

Latest articles in News