Outstanding buildings announced in RIBA regional awards

Shrewsbury Flaxmill Maltings © Daniel Hopkinson winner of the West Midlands Building of the Year

RIBA has announced the winning projects for this year’s RIBA Regional Awards. Each
will now go on to be considered for the RIBA National Awards, announced on 11 July, which will in turn, be used to compile the shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize, held later this year.

Each region has a building of the year winner. This year’s winners are:
– West Midlands – Shrewsbury Flaxmill Maltings
– East – Gainsborough’s House Museum
– Yorkshire – RIBA named a series of winning projects but no building of the year. 
– London – Elizabeth Line
– Northern Ireland – Ulster University Belfast Campus
– South – New Temple Complex
– South East – Cobham Bowers
– South West – Durley Chine Environmental Hub
– East Midlands – Alfreton Park Community Special School
– North East – Auckland Castle, Tower and Faith Museum
– North West – Shakespeare North
– RIAS – The winners compete for the RIAS Andrew Doolan Best Building in Scotland Award. The shortlist is announced in July ahead of the winner in November.
–  RSAW – Hay Castle.

Judged and presented locally, RIBA Regional Awards celebrate great architecture across the UK.

Successful projects reflect changes and innovations in architecture, but at their core display a commitment to designing and developing buildings and spaces for the improvement and enhancement of people’s lives.

Story for AIJ? Get in touch via email: [email protected]

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest articles in News