Regional winners line up for building of the year

Lincoln Cathedral Visitor Centre 

RIBA Regional Awards celebrate great architecture across the UK in 11 regions, judged on the importance as a piece of architecture to the area. Several projects are awarded in each area. The shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize for the best building of the year will then be drawn from the RIBA National Award-winning projects, and announced in October. Listed here are the winners of the Building of the Year for each region.

East Midlands
Simpson & Brown’s Ј16m Lincoln Cathedral Visitor Centre (above)

North East
17Nineteen by Mosedale Gilatt Architects

John Morden Centre by Mæ

South East
F51 Sports Park by Hollaway Studio 

West Midlands
University of Warwick Faculty of Arts by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios

North West
L’Ecurie at Dorfold Hall by Zoë Polya-Vitry Ltd

Radley College Chapel Extension by Purcell Architecture Limited (Purcell) 

Northern Ireland (RSUA award)
Hill House by McGonigle McGrath

Ashraya by Kirkland Fraser Moor

South West
East Quay by Invisible Studio

Scotland (RIAS)
To be annouced. View the shortlist at https://tinyurl.com/bas4urs2

Creative Centre by Tate+Co 

Wales (RSAW)
Pen Y Common by Nidus Architects

Story for AIJ? Get in touch via email: [email protected]

Latest articles in Features