Stirling Prize 2023: shortlist dominated by London buildings

John Morden Centre © Jim Stephenson

The shortlist for the annual Stirling Prize has been announced. The RIBA Stirling Prize is the architecture industry’s top award and is judged against a range of criteria including design vision; innovation and originality; capacity to stimulate, engage and delight occupants and visitors; accessibility and sustainability; how fit the building is for its purpose and the level of client satisfaction.

The shortlist is drawn from the RIBA National Award winners but this year only one of the six finalists is from outside London. The shortlist is:

  • A House for Artists, Apparata Architects
  • Central Somers Town and Community Facilities and Housing, Adam Khan Architects
  •  Courtauld Connects, Witherford Watson Mann
  •  John Morden Centre, Mae
  • Lavender Hill Courtyard Housing, Sergison Bates
  • University of Warwick Faculty of Arts, Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios

Lavender Hill Courtyard Housing © Johan Dehlin

Bookmaker William Hill says the race is ‘wide open’ but has named Lavender Hill Courtyard Housing and the John Morden Centre at its joint favourites (both 3/1) to win the most prestigious accolade in UK architecture.

The others finalists on this year’s are close behind with A House for Artists in Barking and Central Somers Town project, still being offered odds of 5/1.

The RIBA Stirling Prize winner will be announced on 19 October in Manchester at Victoria Warehouse. An exhibition showcasing each project will be on display at RIBA until 10 November. 

Story for AIJ? Get in touch via email: [email protected]

Latest articles in News